A Raconteur Girl Production

Image

Drop a Word (aka: Mean Girls)

 

Technically its not gossip if

 

Drop a Word

(Aka: Mean Girls)

 

 

I drop a word in your ear

About that person, the one I secretly loathe

Something ‘they say’, plucked from the grapevine

(A fact? A fiction? Really, who’s to know?)

 

I didn’t hear it from the horse’s mouth

It is you see, a shocking thing

But apparently, (although I can’t say one hundred percent for sure)

It has a totally truthful ring

 

Of course I didn’t ask the ‘horse’, (the person)

For their side of the story

That would require talking, which could be awkward

And I’m really not up for that, (so sorry!)

 

Though I wasn’t there, and I didn’t see it

I swear it has been verified

(By all my friends, my family,

And by everyone else who’s on my side)

 

A friend of a friend did ask the ‘horse’, (the person), you know

And although they explained this and that

The friend of a friend reported that what was said was open to interpretation

(The truth is fluid – and that’s a factual fact!)

 

I know I really shouldn’t gossip

Gossip leaves such a nasty taste!

But, I’m really concerned about this person

(Concerned that they should be put firmly back in their place!)

 

So as much as it pains me

I must tell you all about it – just you, just in case

(In case that person thought they could share

My friends, my spotlight – in general – my space!)

 

I won’t say much, just a word, just a look

(I know you’ll be begging me for more!

Once a word is dropped, it gains momentum,

It springs to life with a roar!)

 

So I drop a word in your ear

(Hoping it travels to your tongue)

I smile at your ‘No! Really?’ in that disapproving tone. You lean forward, a hushed question on your lips

Yep. My work here is done

 

 

Rach

2014

 

 

“A slanderer goes about revealing confidential talk;

Do not associate with one who loves to gossip.”

– Proverbs 20:19, The New World Translation of the Holy Scriptures

 

 

“A cruel story runs on wheels, and every hand oils the wheels as they run.”

– Ouida

  

 

“Gossip needn’t be false to be evil — there’s a lot of truth that shouldn’t be passed around.”

– Frank A. Clark

 

 

“Trying to squash a rumour is like trying to unring a bell.”

– Shana Alexander

 

 

“The biggest liar in the world is They Say.”

– Douglas Malloch

 

 

“There is so much good in the worst of us,

And so much bad in the best of us,

That it hardly becomes any of us

To talk about the rest of us.”

– Edward Wallis Hoch

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

