A Raconteur Girl Production

Image

I Wonder Why

Tennyson Quote - Mom & Dad

 

 

I Wonder Why

 

 

I wonder why the days are empty

And drag on and on

I wonder why the nights are lonely

And all the stars are gone

 

I wonder why birds no longer fly

Or sing with lilting song

I wonder why I just can’t seem to find

A place where I belong.

 

I wonder why I gaze longingly

Up at the moon so bright

I wonder why I can see you

Looking up at that same silvery light

 

I wonder why I still dream of you

When I lay down and close my eyes

I wonder why heart strings

Are the strongest of all ties

 

I wonder why you had to go

Why you had to leave

I wonder why though you’ve gone

I still feel you and believe

 

I wonder why I can’t forget

No matter what they say

I wonder why thoughts of you

Just won’t go away

 

I wonder why I feel alone

Though I’m in a crowded room

I wonder why this house feels empty

Lonelier than an ancient tomb

 

I wonder how I can still be breathing

When I don’t even feel alive

I wonder how much heartbreak

One crushed soul can survive

 

I wonder why I miss all the things

That didn’t seem to matter much before

I wonder why though I banish them

Memories keep knocking at my door

 

I wonder why on a warm summer day

All I feel is winters chill

I wonder why though my heart is stone

Pain throbs there still

 

I wonder why my sun has set

And colours fade away

I wonder why my head implores

But my heart just won’t obey

 

I wonder why you won’t let me go

You won’t let me start again

I wonder why I’m waiting

When I wait – and wait in vain

 

1992

Rach

 

Dr Seuss - How Did It Get So Late - Nanna & Grandad

 

Leave a comment